10 things not to miss this Open House August

TEN THINGS NOT TO MISS THIS OPEN HOUSE AUGUST

It’s back and ready to take over Bangor town centre for the whole of August. The award winning annual Bangor Open House Festival is a big deal these days, and here are ten events you won’t want to miss, along with links straight through to the ticket office (don’t say we never spoil you!)

1: Alexei Sayle – laughs and tall tales from the much loved comedian and author at The Marine Court Hotel on Sunday 7th August https://openhousefestival.ticketsolve.com/#/shows/873555546

2: Tom Robinson – From Glad to Be Gay, to War Baby, the popular 70s/80s musician, and BBC Radio 6 presenter, will be performing his iconic hits at Space Theatre on Friday 12th August https://openhousefestival.ticketsolve.com/#/shows/873551368

3: From Burgundy to Bangor – fine Burgundy wines presented by Neill Wine, matched with French food with a local twist at The Salty Dog on Friday 12th August. One of the few food events you can still get a ticket for! https://openhousefestival.ticketsolve.com/#/shows/873555633

4: Ports – one of NI’s favourite bands, Ports will perform alongside Prima String Quartet and our very own Open House Festival Choir at The Marine Court Hotel on Sunday 14th August https://openhousefestival.ticketsolve.com/#/shows/873555437

5: Stasi Child: The Stories Behind The Novel – Author David Young talks to Stephen Walker about the real stories behind his Cold-War novel at Space Theatre on Wednesday 17th August. A must for fans of Deutschland 83 and Child 44. https://openhousefestival.ticketsolve.com/#/shows/873555546

6: Sundown Market – a celebration of local artisan food and drink at Project 24 and Queens Parade, this FREE event on Friday 19th August will have producers from St George’s Market, Comber Farmers Market, street food stalls, a popup craft beer bar and live music.

7: Saturday Night Fever – the iconc 1977 film which made John Travolta a houehold name in The Walled Garden – on a Saturday night, of course! Bring a blanket and sing along to the famous BeeGees soundtrack on Saturday 20th August. https://openhousefestival.ticketsolve.com/#/shows/873555583

8: Glitter & Twisted – an evening of madness and mayhem with host Barry Vinegarstroke, aka presenter Joe Lindsay, at the British Legion on Friday 26th August. https://openhousefestival.ticketsolve.com/#/shows/873555455

9: A Midsummer Night’s Dream – watch one of Shakespeare’s best loved comedies performed in the beautiful Walled Garden on Saturday 27th and Sunday 28th August. No better way to the 400th anniversary of the great bard’s death. https://openhousefestival.ticketsolve.com/#/shows/873555570/events/127801219

10: Niamh Perry – Bangor’s very own West End star returns to the town for what promise to be an emotional homecoming concert in The Marine Court Hotel on Tuesday 30th August. https://openhousefestival.ticketsolve.com/#/shows/873555453

Which one will we see you at??

Post Author: Belfast Times

Leave a Reply